It’s about to get real: Where your treasure is, there your heart will be also

Toms. Starbucks. New jeans. Green olives. Italian food. 

I love all of the above items. None of the things I listed are bad. All, in fact, have brought me great joy at some point in my life. But you see, my husband and I had our first “We’re leaving our jobs, our incomes, and our life of comfort” moment this last week. In looking at our expenses versus the money coming in, I began to cry because I wouldn’t be able to buy black Toms, and I shouldn’t stop at Starbucks in the morning. Given, hormones may have added to my emotional state, I found myself crying about things that don’t really matter at all. I know this all sounds silly. And you’re probably thinking “Really? You want to move to Scotland to help plant a church and you’re whining about not being able to buy black Toms?” Yes. That is my confession. 

Strangely, the next morning as I sat down to read my devotional, its focus was on memorizing this verse “Where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” (Matthew 6:21) Do I really want my heart to be invested in shoes, coffee, clothes, green olives, and Italian food? No. Wake up call. Are Toms, Starbucks, jeans, and food bad? No. Does God care about these desires? Yes. But I need to gain perspective.  I want to my heart to be on the things of God, not on a pair of shoes that will reveal my big toe in a matter of months. 

Following Jesus. Loving my neighbors. Being faithful. Praying without ceasing. 

These are the things I want my heart to be set on. 

 

About lcmiller

I'm just a mom who is trying to live with honesty and whimsey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment