Jesus is a friend of mine

A few years ago, a friend of mine found a ridiculous youtube video that had been filmed in the 70s. While the song and the dancing with it was ridiculous, it carried a pretty profound message. Jesus is a friend of mine. This thought is so comforting to me. Friendship used to be so easy for me. It really was like falling off a log. It came natural. Somewhere along the way, though, it became very hard. My dad always used to say “To have friends, you’ve got to be friendly.” Perhaps, I haven’t been friendly or perhaps I’ve been self-focused. Either way, some days I feel alone. It catches me off guard. Where’d my friends go? But perhaps, they are thinking the same way. In the midst of feeling lonely, I often hope someone will reach out to me. Why can’t I see that someone else may be hoping for the exact same thing? What’s stopping me? Fear of rejection. Yes, as an adult, I still fear being rejected by my peers.

Loneliness creeps up on us unexpectedly. Our fiance is working, our friends are busy with their own lives, or those closest to us, simply move away. The comfort I find today, on this August morning, is that Jesus is my friend and He will never leave me. He seeks me out. Today I pray that peace takes over the all too familiar feeling of loneliness. 

 

About lcmiller

I'm just a mom who is trying to live with honesty and whimsey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jesus is a friend of mine

  1. Donna says:

    I agree. I’ve been feeling the same way. Love you my dear

  2. freckleface_girl says:

    Love you Luci 🙂 This truth is seriously the most comforting!!

Leave a comment