What are you willing to give up?

“Then he called the crowd to him along with his disciples and said: ‘If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross and follow me. For whoever wants to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for me and for the gospel will save it. What good is it for a man to gain the whole world; yet forfeit his soul? If  anyone is ashamed of m and my words in this adulterous and sinful generation, the Son of Man will be ashamed of him when he comes in his Father’s glory with the holy angels.’ ” –Mark 8:34-38

What does it really mean to pick up one’s cross and follow Jesus. Americans do not face crucifiction on crosses too often anymore. How, then, can this passage apply to us? Perhaps the cross represents sacrifice and the giving up of what is comfortable and easy. It may also refer to standing up for what is right, just, and representing Jesus to our community. We may lose friends. We may risk feeling awkward. We may miss out on a luxurious life. All in all, I think it means to sacrifice our wants, desires, and needs for the sake of others.

One such example of this, occurs in relationships. When we feel wronged or disappointed, we have an opportunity to forgive. Forgiveness is a moment where we can take up our cross and follow Jesus. Although it be painful, in the end we experience true life. We free the other person, but we really free ourselves from our selfish desires. Forgiveness forces us to put the needs of others above our own. We’ve all looked into the eyes of someone who pleaded for our forgiveness. They long for the life that forgiveness brings. In that moment, we can follow the way of Jesus and forgive wholeheartedly. Not only is forgiveness a means of taking up our crosses, but also stepping out of the comfortable.

My husband and I have this great desire to step out of the comfortable and to step out in faith. This may mean giving up close proximity to friends, family, and stepping away from our jobs. However, we do not want to get to the end of our lives and realize that we put the wants of this world ahead of our souls. We do not want to step into eternity with our Savior and realize the opportunities we missed out of fear.I am not a risk taker. I am afraid of many things. My heart is often anxious. I am realizing, though, I was not created to be filled with fear. No, I was meant to be courageous.  Our prayer is to follow Jesus wherever he may lead. Please pray with us.

And walk with Jesus.

About lcmiller

I'm just a mom who is trying to live with honesty and whimsey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment